need help on MR

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by spinningyinyang, May 31, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. spinningyinyang

spinningyinyang Active Member

Status Points:
    i'm a collge student based in ATL. Every year i fly 30000-40000 miles which guarantees me a gold on AA. So i consider why not hit PLA since that's where the nice things are.

I started to check on FC, ITA and even bought a ExpertFlyer, still cant find any good fare ( 3 CPM or below...) too bad so sad...

Anyone can teach me how to do it based ATL? or ATL is just bad for AA?

2. rwoman
    Original Member

rwoman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Well, ATL IS DL territory, which could be good if there's not a large AA FF base competing for upgrades. AA and BA (to London) are your only OW options ex-ATL.

ATL-LON-ATL is about 8400 miles r/t if you can find a good deal. Try the BA Deals Site. For flights on any partner airlines, be sure to check the accrual for the fare class...depending on if you're going after EQP or EQM.

Websites to try include Kayak and FareCompare. Keep in mind that AA does not show up on all 3rd party sites.

3. jmrich1432
    Original Member

jmrich1432 Silver Member

Status Points:
    You may consider taking a positioning flight to start your MR since you're leaving from a DL hub. I don't fly AA much, but I've always had good luck with last minute fares. Have fun!

4. Tenmoc
    Original Member

Tenmoc Gold Member

Status Points: