Need Help Getting Started

Discussion in 'Other Credit Card Programs' started by juukx, Oct 20, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi,

I'm completely new to the mileage game. I'm looking for a good combination of cards to start using. I'm going to Israel with Continental this New Year's Eve so I want to maximize my situation. I was wondering if anyone could give me feedback on what I've come up with so far. I'm interested in Miles. I would like the maximum amount of miles from 2 credit cards to use for a future international flight.

The Continental Onepass Plus card and the Chase Sapphire Preferred card seem to be a good combination. The 30k bonus miles I'll get from continental and the 50k bonus from sapphire preferred, from my understanding, can combine for 80k in miles. On top of that, the Sapphire's fee is waived the first year and it has no foreign transaction fees. The bonuses seem to make it worth it.

I'm interested in suggestions of cards, whether the two cards I found have any compatibility issues (ie transferring miles across to the onepass account, or the fact that they are both Chase), and any other tips/advice/suggestions that a newbie needs. I only picked the Continental Onepass Plus because of my upcoming flight that can be added to it.

JohnDeere19 and Quasiconvexity like this.
  2. wombat18
    Original Member

wombat18 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome aboard! I think you've got two good choices there, although others may have different recommendations, too.

You've got the right idea - thinking about maximizing your initial bonus, thinking about what will work with your travel plans (eg. do you value free first bag checking on CO, do you value no foreign transaction fees, etc.), as well as thinking about how you want to spend those miles (eg. international flights ... but where: cross - pacific or cross- atlantic?).