Need help constructing a HNL-IAD fare

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Audy_KTUH, Jun 27, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Audy_KTUH

Audy_KTUH Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post, but I thought since I'm a newbie I should be restricting my fare questions to the newbie section.

My grandmother wants to fly to IAD from HNL to visit some relatives before she gets too old to travel. I offered my assistance as I had some success recently finding good fares on ITA and EF to the west coast.
    I was wondering if the more advance folks here could give me some suggestions for constructing a fare that is a good compromise between cost and comfort. Grandma's on a fixed budget so she doesn't have a lot to spend. She's also not a spring chicken anymore so I don't want to send her through too many airports with short (or really long) connecting times. I also can't send her over when the weather is too cold, I was targeting September, October, or early November.

So far the best compromise I could find was HNL-PHX-DFW-IAD on AA for about $808 around mid September.

Thanks for the help!

Tenmoc, misman and Lufthansa Flyer like this.
  2. Lufthansa Flyer
    Original Member

Lufthansa Flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    United has HNL PHX IAD for $808. takes an extra stop out for her. kayak.com I assumed a 9/15 hnl departure and returning 10 days later or so. The return was IAD-Las-SFO-HNL. A one stop return flight was about 840 R/T. That had the return flight IAD-IAH(HOUSTON)-HNL

3. misman
    Original Member

misman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MilePoint!

Some specific dates (or date ranges) for the HNL-IAD and return will help identify some better options. You're right, you definitely don't want granny hopscotching across the globe for this trip... it is hard enough on those that are young enough to handle it! But I think someone will be able to find a 1-stop routing that will satisfy the budget.