Need assistance planning award travel - Newbie here

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by cjneil, Oct 25, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. cjneil

cjneil Member

Status Points:
    This is all so complicated trying to figure out award flights, etc., especially to a newbie. I flew to Uganda this year on expanded coach for 24 hours in the air and it was brutal. I will be returning to Uganda in 2014, so far my dates are open but prefer Aug-Dec time frame. I would like to have at least one leg each way in Business class. In a perfect world, would like a week in Europe on return. I haven't been able to figure out how to do this....2 separate RT flights such as SEA-AMS and back and then AMS-EBB and back? I am thinking that way I could have a week stopover in Europe on return but also thinking this would be very expensive for award because it would costs 2 separate RT flights. I don't think I can do a stopover on return with just a single RT, this is where I need help!

I have 160,000 miles on Alaska. Obviously would prefer to fly on a partner airline for miles. I am MVP, which isn't much. I don't mind one leg each way being in expanded coach. Is any of this even possible? Would love any thoughts or direction, at all. You are all Pros at this!

Thank you for your time,
    CJ

Mirror74 likes this.
  2. Mirror74

Mirror74 Gold Member

Status Points:
    You can do a stopover on a one-way international award in most cases, so you would only need one RT flight with stopover on the way back... it is now possible to search for flights in August and September 2013 and as far as I can see, only options with BA are widely available, for instance for 140k miles and 1200 USD fuel surcharges (yes, painful), you can go all way in C and have a stopover on the way back...

cjneil likes this.
  3. moongoddess

moongoddess Silver Member

Status Points:
    From the Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan page: