My First Churn Ever

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by rodeojones, Nov 14, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. rodeojones

rodeojones Silver Member

Status Points:
    I just finished my very first churn on Nov 10th. Below are the details with some comments.

Chase Ink Bold ($5000 in 3 months = 50k points)
    Chase Hyatt ($1000 in 3 months = 2 free nights)
    Starwood Preferred ($5000 in 6 months = 25k points)
    CitiBank AA Visa and AmEx (two browser trick, $5000 in 4 months for = 100k points)

I am new to rewards and got my first card (Chase Sapphire) in September. Completed the minimum spend quickly and decided not to wait for 90+ days and jumped in with both feet as listed above.

Chase Ink Bold and Hyatt were both pending approval. Called the personal line (Hyatt) and was surprised to find it had been declined. My credit is in the 780's but found since I had applied for the Sapphire in Sept., Chase automatically declined my app due to too many applications. The csr instantly approved the card and I moved to the Bold. Called the business line and frankly was unprepared to answer questions on three years of profit, total earnings, etc. Felt like I butchered the interview and expected them to decline my app but was surprised it was approved! I strongly recommend people being prepared for the interview if applying for a Chase business card. Know your last three years of expenses, profits, projections for the current year, etc.

Starwood Preferred instant approval.

CitiBank AA Visa and AmEx using two browser trick instant approval on both. Recieved an email today stating I was approved for the Visa but I have not recieved anything regarding the AmEx. I recall there was an option on the app to be notified via email regarding the decision. I checked one but on the 2nd app I did not.