Moving to Japan this year

Discussion in 'Asia' started by taiwaned, Apr 3, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. taiwaned
    Original Member

taiwaned Silver Member

Status Points:
    Being a second generation Japanese, I can speak converational Japanese without any problem. Communication is no problem however I am illiterate in Japanese. I have started to memorize my katagana and hiragana on my own and characters seem very similiar to the Mandarin characters I have been studying for the past 5 years or so.
    Planning to move to the Ashiya, Nishinomiya area of Japan. (between Kobe and Osaka) Anybody have any recommendations for adult Japanese schools for foreigners? Or where I can find a competant tutor?

LXofSweden and KIXman like this.
  2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you're moving for work, they should have recommendations and might be willing to pay.

3. taiwaned
    Original Member

taiwaned Silver Member

Status Points:
    No not for work. Elder care. In laws are in need of some assistance.

PAinNY and IMGone like this.
  4. thetenken
    Original Member

thetenken Silver Member

Status Points:
    I have a friend who lives in Tokyo, also second-generation working as a teacher. If you'd like, PM me and I can try and set you guys up for lessons. He is completely fluent.

Woops, forgot the part about Nishinomiya. He lives in Tokyo, but could probably teach via Skype.

5. KIXman
    Original Member

KIXman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hi taiwaned!!! I live in Kobe so that's great news to me! It'll be great to know that there's another MPer living nearby :)