Miles & More to MileagePlus?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by wcblack34, Apr 16, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. wcblack34

wcblack34 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Gooooood Morning Fellow Travelers!

I am new to the craft of earning and maximizing Frequent Flyer Miles. I have a MileagePlus account with United, and I am wondering if I can transfer Lufthansa Miles & More miles to that account, as I have been approved for a card offering 20K Miles & More miles. Does anyone have experience doing such a transfer?

2. TRAVELSIG
    Original Member

TRAVELSIG Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hi and welcome to Milepoint!

Unfortunately there is not a way to handle such a transfer. Miles&More is a good program if you fly a lot in full fare business or any fare first class- otherwise the United program is typically a much better value for earning and definitely for redeeming. The "taxes and fees" for a Lufthansa Miles&More ticket are very high.

TravelBear and NYCUA1K like this.
  3. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    AFAIK, such a mile transfer is not doable. Transferring miles might help to increase one's miles in one program; unfortunately, I do not think it can be done, without an intermediary program like a hotel loyalty program that takes one airline program's miles, converts them to its loyalty points, which can then be converted to miles of another airline's program. You can redeem M&M miles on UA or vice versa, so it is not all bad...

TravelBear likes this.
  4. wcblack34

wcblack34 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for the replies. I really want to get the most out of my miles, but there's a lot of information to sift through in the beginning!

So if I understand you correctly, if I have 50K UA miles and need 70K to get to Lima Peru, I can use my M&M miles on UA to make up the difference?

5. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points: