Mileage run on AA?

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by monkeyninja, Dec 5, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hello all - a newbie here with a very simple question - I'm about to lose Platinum status on AA - and I have between now and 12/31 to make up around 5,000 miles - would anyone be so kind as to shed light on the most cost effective way one might be able to do this?

Tenmoc and JohnDeere19 like this.
  2. JohnDeere19
    Original Member

JohnDeere19 Gold Member

Status Points:
  3. jetsetr
    Original Member

jetsetr Gold Member

Status Points:
  4. Sweet Willie
    Original Member

Sweet Willie Gold Member

Status Points:
    to help with answers, where are you based, can you travel on weekdays, is international ok, etc etc. The more you state about your situation, the better responses you will receive.

jetsetr likes this.
  5. Ah sorry, all good questions. I am based in NYC, so could travel from EWR, LGA and JFK. I have no significant restrictions, I would be willing to travel on Xmas day if it's cheaper, thank you other who have responded, I'll check out the links, and would welcome any advice for a novice who ought to have flown a bit more with AA this year. :/

JohnDeere19, Tenmoc and Sweet Willie like this.
  6. International travel is totally fine too - its more the cost issue - is there a value one would ascribe to "platinum"? Ie have you heard of people spending $1,000 on a flight just to maintain status? I imagine $500 would be as much as I could stretch before I started to think the cost outweighed the benefit...

7. jetsetr
    Original Member

jetsetr Gold Member

Status Points: