Melatonin - how much to use? when to use? which brands? ack!

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by dtc, Apr 7, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. dtc

dtc Active Member

Status Points:
    I acknowledge that all medical advice here is for entertainment purposes only, and may cause harm/death to me, and that you are not my doctor.

Ok with that out of the day, I've never used melatonin before - because usually I build in enough buffer time to adjust, or... well... frankly... I'm down with showing up like a zombie the next day. :)

But this time, I'm flying out from LAX to NRT - getting in at 4p JST. I need to be johnny-on-the-spot between 8a-6p (maybe even earlier in the day :eek: ) the next day.

And then when I return stateside 5 days later, I need to be ready-to-go for the next day as well.

Ack!

So melatonin warriors - how does this work? (Possible related info: Mid 30's, 155lbs, no F/J for me [unless someone wants to donate an evip to me!], chronically in sleep debt)

thepointstraveler and mo26 like this.
  2. mo26

mo26 Silver Member

Status Points:
    i've been told to only ever take one. I've tried it a few times, never did anything for me.

-MO

MX likes this.
  3. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    It made me sleepy the next day after I took it. ;)
    Melatonin has a very long clearance time, and not useful or predictable as a sedative.

violist, thesterlingtraveler and mo26 like this.
  4. thesterlingtraveler

thesterlingtraveler Gold Member

Status Points:
    When I was taking melatonin, I got it at Mothers Market. I just got a 1mg lozenge that disintegrates in your mouth. It didn't always make me fall asleep faster but I did find that I was able to sleep through the night (which at the time, I was not doing without it)

5. Counsellor
    Original Member

Counsellor Gold Member

Status Points: