Meetups - what and why?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by ranman1973, Apr 12, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. ranman1973

ranman1973 Silver Member

Status Points:
    While I'm not a newbie, I have never attended a meetup. Curious to know about the meetups. What takes place? Are there speeches? Do you just mingle? Sit down dinner? How many people? What do you talk about?

Oh the questions.

aptraveler and Sweet Willie like this.
  2. LizzyDragon84
    Original Member

LizzyDragon84 Gold Member

Status Points:
    It depends on the meetup. Most are the mix and mingle type where folks will meet up for lunch or dinner and hang out. Many involve tours of the area. Some involve meeting airline/hotel execs or seminars about miles/points. They are all a great way to meet other flyers and put faces to the names you see here.

MP has a meetup section and you can check the threads to find out what each meetup involves. All events are open to everyone, but some may require an RSVP or a registration fee.

aptraveler and Sweet Willie like this.
  3. 2soonold
    Original Member

2soonold Gold Member

Status Points:
    I always said I would never attends one of these things; but never say never. Basically, I am an introvert, a loner, and independent. But even I am considering going to a meetup in Charleston this year. It would be interesting to meet other Milepointers who think well enough of the area to make the trip to meetup. And if I turn out to be the oddball, at least I will still be vacationing in a part of the world that I truly enjoy.:)

4. Sweet Willie
    Original Member

Sweet Willie Gold Member

Status Points:
    miles, points, credit cards, other topics (not always in that order & sometimes only the latter, depends on the group)
    what a good way to start a conversation !!:D
    I hope to make Charleston. Meeting locals at a Do is taking place is a great way to gain insight into the area.