Maximizing Domestic travel miles for Int'l future travel goals

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by servo, Aug 11, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. servo

servo Silver Member

Status Points:
    Ok, I'm still a bit new at all this, and everyone has been very helpful acclimating me to the forum. My primary goal is to take my wife to Europe in 2014. To me, that means either flying from MCO into Barcelona, Paris, or Rome. While I'd love to be able to pull a first class RT, with a possible mortgage in my near (2-3 years) future, I don't really want to get too into the credit card game. So, I need to maximize elsewhere. Our other international goals over the next few years are a trip next summer MCO-SXM (Maho Beach to watch the planes come in), and MCO-LIM. It appears that I am better off, time wise, driving or taking the train down to Miami, and catching direct flights on AA, but LIM seems more expensive ($ wise) than even Europe does, so I'm not sure if the miles would be better put to use there or to BCM. (I'm assuming that's where the cpm analysis comes in handy).

Anyhow, in the upcoming year, we have the following trips planned: 1) MCO-SDF or CVG Dec 2012 2) MCO-LAS - Mar 2013 3) MCO-SFO Apr 2013. Should I just fly exclusively with AA (I got the 2 card deal which should net me 100k miles if I get the min spend complete), when available (it's wildly inconvenient to get to SDF/CVG on AA), to get the miles from both the CC purchase of the domestic fare, and the miles for the flights, or are there other options that would work better? I have the Cap One Venture card as my only other card with a balance of miles for travel (40k), and then the PC Visa for hotels, and the US Air Barclay's card for 40k miles that should be arriving shortly.

I'd appreciate any advice.

2. TravelBear

TravelBear Gold Member

Status Points:
    Have you considered checking going out of TPA versus MIA?