Maximize Travel Programs in Austin, Texas

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by sandratravels, Aug 7, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. sandratravels

sandratravels Member

Status Points:
    Good Morning,
    My name is Sandra and I am fairly new to milepoint. A little bit of background about myself and travel plans for the coming year or two.

This is my situation:
    My husband and I are looking to secure another house (investment property) this year or early next year. We currently have one rental house (almost paid off). We have our primarily house (bought in 2009; plan to stay in it for 15 plus years and we make extra payments to principle).

Current credit card status:
    I am the primary person obtaining points on my credit cards, but husband uses my credit cards for purchases too. I currently have four credit cards (two dormant, one through Capital One (longest owned card, which I plan to keep the account, but I want to transfer to 0 annual fee credit card) and one rewards card through local credit union, I also plan to keep and has a 0 annual fee). I have an AMEX Green card (I have had this card since 2007) and recently received Southwest Premier Visa card (in April 2013). I have been focusing my spends on the SW card, as I want to earn a Companion Pass for my husband. I have approximately 40,000 points to go.

Our travel departs:
    We are a family of three living in Austin, Texas. Our primary airport is AUS, but we can travel to Dallas (DFW) and Houston (IHA & Hobby), if needed for cheaper fair and/or less points used.

Our travel pattern:
    We do not travel for work, so all travel will be leisure. We plan to go to Hong Kong every year and our planning two domestic locations (considering Las Vegas in February and Lake Tahoe in June).

Airline Programs: