Managing Credit Inquiries for Churns

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by tzoom84, Aug 17, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. tzoom84
    Original Member

tzoom84 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I noticed several folks tend to apply for up to 3-4 cards, 4x a year.This can add up to ~32 credit inquiries in the two-year span when they are on the credit report. Yes, I understand that not all credit card companies hit the same credit bureau. However, at least for me, the big hitters (Citi, Chase) both hit the same one (Experian).

Do people that churn this hard pretty much always have to call the reconsideration line to explain the number of inquiries?

I am asking because I feel I'm hitting that saturation point. I've been collecting miles via cards for ~4 years on and off. I only tend to do 3 churns a year, at 3 cards a time. I took most of 2012 off to let some inquiries drop off.

But I noticed at the heaviest points I always had to call to explain the "recent activity". I've been pretty successful with my explanations except for a Barclay denial recently and it got me thinking if I'm hitting a limit now.

Kalboz and boondr like this.
  2. LAM

LAM Silver Member

Status Points:
    I have applied and been immediately approved for 13 cards over about a year and a half period of time. I just got a second US Airways MC (I was shocked I got it immediately) however I had not applied for any cards for 6 months. I just received an offer in the mail for a 50,000 United card (which I need for a future planned trip) and I will have to apply before 90 days has passed since my last applications. I think this will be the first I will have to call as I already have 4 Chase cards. Hopefully they will let me move some credit around as the limit on my Priority card is high and I never use it.

3. tzoom84
    Original Member

tzoom84 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Wow that's pretty good. Were those ALL personal cards? Or personal plus business mixed?