Lose status when miles used?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by browneye9000, Nov 30, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. browneye9000

browneye9000 New Member

Status Points:
    Obviously I'm a super newbie here so be gentle. Do I lose my status when I use my miles? I'm a whopping silver medallin skymiles member but will be gold in two weeks when I fly roundtrip to KSA again next week. If I use miles then do I lose status? Maybe a different way to ask is, is your status based on the miles you have available or the miles you've aquired (whether or not they are available to use).

2. gaijin62

gaijin62 Gold Member

Status Points:
    miles you have aquired

dstober and TravelBear like this.
  3. LarryInNYC

LarryInNYC Gold Member

Status Points:
    No, earning status is an event. When it happens you will still have that status for the specified period (generally through the end of February of the year following the year for which you earned status), regardless of what happens to the miles which earned you the status.

Note that not every mile you earn counts as a "status" mile (often referred to as a "something qualifying mile" where "something" is program-specific). Bonus miles (the 25% extra miles you earn when you fly as a Silver, for instance) are not Medallion Qualifying Miles on Delta and sometimes miles you earn on a partner airline are not qualifying (but are still redeemable for award tickets).

dstober and TravelBear like this.
  4. TravelBear

TravelBear Gold Member

Status Points:
    I will only confirm what the others have said. Your status is based on earned miles NOT how many you have in your bank. I am lowly Silver with DL and recently used 120k miles leaving me with very little in my account. I am still Silver.

traveltoomuch likes this.
  5. marcwint55

marcwint55 Gold Member

Status Points: