Looking for San Francisco to NYC RT under $300

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Iwantoflymore, Jun 15, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. Iwantoflymore

Iwantoflymore New Member

Status Points:
    Hi all

I am new to this thread. I moved to California for a new job about nine months ago and have been struggling to find good deals to visit friends and family back in the east coast.

I signed up for airfare watchdog, all airline emails, got the kayak app and check flights every Tuesday for sales using the "on the fly". Anyone have any advice/suggestions as to finding deals from SFO to NYC for under $300 RT? If possible, I trip to look at weekends so I don't use up all my vacation days. Would be great if it was Friday-Sunday. However, I know that is not reasonable with the ideal price so I am open Saturday-Tuesday. I'm willing to take off a day or two off work but nothing more. Please reply if you have any suggestions.

Thanks!

MX likes this.
  2. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    You could try collecting/redeeming airline miles. Paying 25,000 miles for a r/t award in economy is a bit like giving up $250. Have you received any airline credit card welcome bonuses yet?

Sammich likes this.
  3. Sammich

Sammich Gold Member

Status Points:
    SFO is Virgin's hub, might be do-able in this case to NYC.

I flew SEA to EWR earlier this year on AS RT for about $320.

MX likes this.
  4. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Good luck.

The days of regularly finding sub-$300 transcons seem to be a distant memory at this point. It can happen from time to time when there is a sale but more commonly I'm seeing rather more expensive fares. :(

5. konoyaro

konoyaro Silver Member

Status Points:
    I see flights from SFO to EWR on AA for $290 in September when looking at ITA. So it seems it's possible to get that price for a Sat - Tues itinerary depending on your flexibility.

Sammich likes this.
  6. traveltoomuch