Longest distance between gates?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by jparker, May 17, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jparker

jparker Silver Member

Status Points:
    I have been flying for over 25+ years and today I had what I am convinced is the longest walk between gates I have ever. In MSP I arrived at F16 and had to go to A14 and the shuttle tram was out of order. Theses gates are literally at opposite ends of the airport. I have walked out to the E concourse in ATL and have had some long walk son international arrivals but don't think those were close to this.

Has anyone ever seen quantified data on longest distances between gates or has a personal experience?

uggboy and autolycus like this.
  2. autolycus

autolycus Gold Member

Status Points:
    Can't say that I have ever seen any actual data specific to your question, but I was curious and pulled up Google maps for the ATL area and used the ruler to guestimate the distance between the furthest 2 gates. It looks like if you walked from T1 to the underground tunnel, walked from T to A to B to C to D to E and then walked down to E1, you would walk right at 1.5 miles. I haven't been to the new F Concourse, so this is wild speculation as to how things are laid out, but it looks like getting to F1 would bring you up to 1.75 miles.

uggboy likes this.
  3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    In MSP, there are tricks. You had a long and IME rather unpleasant walk due to congestion in the areas you probably walked through.