Lifemiles Star Alliance award experiences?

Discussion in 'Star Alliance' started by flydonkey, Sep 3, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. flydonkey

flydonkey Silver Member

Status Points:
    I did a search for Lifemiles, Avianca, and Taca, and to my surprise, there were no threads devoted to this new-ish Star Alliance member's frequent flyer program. It has an active discussion post on TOBB and has also been highlighted on a few blogs. The active discussion and blog involvement has, as usual, been mixed with the inevitable gnashing of teeth and complaining that happens when a potentially good deal becomes more widely publicized.

I am no expert at analyzing FF programs, but the value for me in this program is the ability to book "aspirational awards" that have been otherwise very difficult to come by - e.g. LX F ZRH-MIA in January 2013 - at what I consider to be a bargain price. The one-way ticket cost 67,500 miles and $85.88, and the cost of the miles was $1012.50. Not cheap by any means, but a significant improvement over the $12K+ it would have otherwise cost. There also appear to be much more frugal ways to use the miles and clever routing techniques that can make this program very valuable, depending on travel interests/styles.

Anyone else have any experience with the Lifemiles awards so far?

2. Stephan

Stephan Silver Member

Status Points:
    How far in advance are you able to see LX awards? I found some around Christmas but nothing for next summer.
    Any luck with LH? I'm looking for a simple LX or LH F return from the west coast to Europe during the summer months.

Newscience likes this.
  3. Stephan

Stephan Silver Member

Status Points:
    Interestingly, no availability shows on ANA even though it comes up on Lifemiles and seems to be bookable according to others. Is anyone seeing availability that matches on EF?

Newscience likes this.
  4. flydonkey

flydonkey Silver Member

Status Points: