Life after BK

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by thedanguy, May 25, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. thedanguy

thedanguy Member

Status Points:
    Hello, I am a newbie here. I have learned much and appreciated all the posts on this board. Gary and others have so graciously offered your expertise and knowledge. Thank you all.

I had a perfect credit score 4 years ago. Then the financial crisis hit the commercial mortgage loans which I had personally guaranteed. To make the story short, I had to declare BK. So now my credit score has sunk to 683 for the last 3 years. I have talked with credit card issuing banks and they were not interested in the fact that my BK had absolutely nothing to do with personal debt or irresponsible spending. In their view, a BK is a BK is a BK.

Before that, I had lost 400K miles with Aloha Airlines when it went out of business. Now the only travel reward card I have been able to obtain is US Bank for TACA airlines, which I have been using and accumulating points. I have also been able to get credit cards with smaller limits and diligently earn United Airlines (UA) points through their shopping portal. Aside from those, I am pretty much shut out of the miles/points credit card offers out there.

I am going to look into the Blue Bird account to earn extra miles. Recently I earned 25K UA miles by opening an new account with Fidelity and was thrilled with such a windfall in a long while.