LHR Hotels or head back into London?

Discussion in 'Marriott | Rewards' started by stuartfla, Feb 7, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. stuartfla
    Original Member

stuartfla Silver Member

Status Points:
    I never have considered staying at either the Heathrow Marriott or the Heathrow Renaissance as I always stay at Grosvenor House or Chancery Court in London however I have an upcoming late flight in from AMS and an early morning departure to MIA the next day, therefore I am wondering how bad these two airport hotels could be for a brief overnight. I have seen very mixed reviews and wanted to see if anyone had recent experience with either?

TheIceTrojan and KimK like this.
  2. Zinzan
    Original Member

Zinzan Active Member

Status Points:
    I've no recent experience with either airport hotel (although the Marriott's a bit more modern than the Renaissance) , but for an early morning departure I'd go with either of the airport hotels rather than a central London hotel, purely because of the locational convenience. If time is tight in the morning, getting from central London could be fraught with delays (traffic, Heathrow Express, etc.), so I'd play it safe!

3. Saracen
    Original Member

Saracen Silver Member

Status Points:
    I once had a short stay at LHR, and stayed in the Yotel cabin hotel inside T4. Cheap and actually reasonable for a shortish nap. Check it out here.

KimK and stuartfla like this.
  4. Mackieman
    Original Member

Mackieman Gold Member

Status Points:
    I've not stayed at either but I've always heard the LHR Marriott was a bit nicer than the LHR Ren. Your mileage, as always, may vary. But really, if you're there for a quick overnight, a clean bed and bathroom are really the important things, right?

5. Zinzan
    Original Member

Zinzan Active Member

Status Points:
    Most likely - unless you also want to indulge in a bit of plane watching, in which case the LHR Renaissance has great views of runway 09L/27R![​IMG]