LAX-MEL 787-900 service

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by meFIRST, May 18, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. meFIRST

meFIRST Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am considering booking a ticket. My hesitation is

- What if UA switches this (post launch date) to MEL-SYD-LAX?
    [ this adds a stop to this route, and therefore changes my travel experience. In this case, I would want a refund, because I would rather then fly QF's MEL-LAX service.}

I am not a lawyer, but materially, there is a difference between MEL-SYD-LAX and MEL-LAX. 1 stop and longer travel times.

- UA switches this from a 787-900 to 777.

In the past, I was able to get a refund when UA changed planes for JFK-LAX from ps to non ps.

Could I get a refund in both cases?

2. HubletUAFlyer

HubletUAFlyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    If the concern is aircraft type then qf doesnt operate the 787 on that route.

If it is a routing issue, then you may be just picking the fly sh$t out of the pepper...it is the same aircraft with a short stop in sydney

I don't see how that can detract from your travel experience enough to be concerned about it

Flyer1976 likes this.
  3. Black Cloud
    Original Member

Black Cloud Gold Member

Status Points:
    It would change your arrival time in LAX by more than 30 min so I'm 99% sure you could CXL without penalty.

4. Flyer1976
    Original Member

Flyer1976 Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm currently booked on the MEL-LAX in November and I think UA will iron out the kinks by then.

If there's a significant schedule change then you can rebook or cancel without penalty.

meFIRST likes this.
  5. meFIRST

meFIRST Silver Member

Status Points:
    The flight I am considering is in late october, a few days after the inaugural. If the flight is not on a 787-900 and not non stop, I want my money back lol. Thanks for the feedback.

6. meFIRST

meFIRST Silver Member

Status Points: