L.A. to Rome -- Jun/Jul, 2012

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by sojourner1, Dec 31, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. sojourner1

sojourner1 Member

Status Points:
    Hello!
    Brand-new here at milepoint (just found you all today through The Points Guy).
    Would love some suggestions on the following:

My family & I (myself, my wife & 2 kids -- ages 20 & 16) are planning a trip to Rome next summer. Our travel dates are flexible (leaving anytime after June 23rd & returning by mid-July for a total of 12-14 days).

We have the following miles (approx) :
    British Air: myself - 109k & my wife 106k
    Delta : myself - 95k & my wife 51k

I have never used BA before (we signed up for their Chase Visa 100k promo last spring) so have been just looking into the past week. It looks like they had a big change to Avios in November. Regardless, BA.com is confusing!
    Delta.com, I'm much more comfortable with - even though redeeming miles with the can be difficult.

All of that being said....
    any & all thoughts on how best to utilize these miles the most economically would be very much appreciated!

cheers,
    Gregory

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Have you looked at the responses in the other thread you started?

3. Globaliser
    Original Member

Globaliser Silver Member

Status Points:
    Are you thinking of redeeming for travel in the economy cabin? If so, the first thing to do is to get a handle on how much a cash ticket will cost. Many who were tempted by the Chase 100K promotion did not realise in advance that if you redeem for an economy ticket, you may well have to pay almost as much on top of the miles as if you had just bought a cash ticket to begin with. BA Miles/Avios are better spent on premium cabin travel, and (in general) best spent on upgrading WT+ cash tickets to business class. This is how the BA scheme has been for many years now, and this did not change in November 2011.