L.A. to Rome -- Jun/Jul, 2012

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by sojourner1, Dec 30, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. sojourner1

sojourner1 Member

Status Points:
    Hello!
    Brand-new here at milepoint (just found you all today through The Points Guy).
    Would love some suggestions on the following:

My family & I (myself, my wife & 2 kids -- ages 20 & 16) are planning a trip to Rome next summer. Our travel dates are flexible (leaving anytime after June 23rd & returning by mid-July for a total of 12-14 days).

We have the following miles (approx) :
    British Air: myself - 109k & my wife 106k
    Delta : myself - 95k & my wife 51k

I have never used BA before (we signed up for their Chase Visa 100k promo last spring) so have been just looking into the past week. It looks like they had a big change to Avios in November. Regardless, BA.com is confusing!
    Delta.com, I'm much more comfortable with - even though redeeming miles with the can be difficult.

All of that being said....
    any & all thoughts on how best to utilize these miles the most economically would be very much appreciated!

cheers,
    Gregory

misman and Gargoyle like this.
  2. Lufthansa Flyer
    Original Member

Lufthansa Flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    misman likes this.
  3. daemon14

daemon14 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP!

I think you may not have a huge amount of options -- summer travel to Europe, close to the Olympics, for 4 people may be tough to find.

With DL, it's 60K at least for round-trip economy, so you'd only have enough for 1 person.You could transfer 9K to your wife for about $120 (or less, if there is a transfer promotion) to get the 2nd award ticket, but after that, you'd have to purchase 2 tickets, which are going for about $1200-1500 each.