Kiva Do attendee bio thread

Discussion in 'KivaDO | 2012' started by KyRoamer, Jan 21, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. KyRoamer
    Original Member

KyRoamer Gold Member

Status Points:
    Mr. & Mrs. KyRoamer look forward to meeting many of our online Kiva friends at the do. I am an attorney in a 250 person law firm with offices in Kentucky and Indiana. I work with businesses experiencing financial distress and represent both debtors and creditors in chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings. My friends call me Mike or Michael or .... (let's not go there). Phyllis, my wife of 46 years, is a PR manager working for both our local Jewish Hospital and the Jewish Community of Louisville. We both enjoy travel. Computers have been my hobby since the Apple II was introduced. And we are University of Louisville basketball fans and if I do not get a move on it she is going to be mad at me since we have a pre-game dinner NOW.

Update: University of Louisville beat Pittsburgh last night and my wife, who despite being from Philadelphia is a U of L graduate, is relieved. The team has had a rough go the past few games, but may be getting things together. I did not mention to her that pitt has lost its last eight games and all of its Big East conference games. Knowing what not to mention is one of the secrets to a long marriage.

Anyhow, a bit more about me. I grew up in Louisville, admired Albert Einstein and my mother's father, an automotive engineer, and in 1959 headed off to Purdue to be an engineer. That lasted a semester (engineering drawing did me in) and I spent the next semester looking for a good business school. I was one of four successful transfer applicants accepted at the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School and graduated in 1963 with a degree in Finance and Economics. I decided to go to law school next. After much study, I decided that Boston had the best seafood so I enrolled at Harvard and was on my way.