Just made gold

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by WindyCityJ, Dec 3, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. WindyCityJ

WindyCityJ Active Member

Status Points:
    So after this weekend's mileage run from ORD-SFO I finally made gold. I know its not much but its my first time making status.Anyway. I have a trip to Vegas (ORD-LAS) in a week and a half. I'm traveling at off-ish times Depart ORD Wednesday at 7:50, return Sunday at like 8:30 or something sick early for leaving Vegas.

Since this is my first shot at upgrading I'm going to try. Right now, 9 days out from departure there are 11 seats open in First. Same for my return. I have the 500 mile stickers for both flights and have requested the upgrade on aa.com. But as a lowly gold do I stand a chance of getting upgraded?

Just curious because I'm wanting to take advantage of my first upgrade opportunity.

Yeah I know the flights are on S80's and not the greatest first class but still, I want to try.

Thanks

zpaul, IPBrian, rwoman and 5 others like this.
  2. Tracy T.

Tracy T. Silver Member

Status Points:
    First, congratulations on reaching the Gold level! I got Gold for the first time back in August, so from personal experience I can tell you out of the 6 segments I've flown on AA since then I've been upgraded twice (RNO-DFW & DCA-MIA both early morning flights on Saturdays.) I think your best shot is really on off-peak time flights. Of course, YMMV.
    Honestly, I think Priority Access and free Preferred Seat choices are the best perks of Gold. Good luck, and enjoy your travels!

3. malikguy

malikguy Silver Member

Status Points:
    Congrats on Gold! I agree with Tracy, the upgrades are harder to get as Gold, but the other perks are very nice. Make sure you request refunds on any Preferred seats you may have purchased on future bookings since you are now Gold. Good luck!

zpaul, phraktur and uggboy like this.
  4. olmangsr

olmangsr Silver Member

Status Points: