Is the Sapphire Preferred "Limited Time" an ominous sign?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by autolycus, Jan 11, 2012.  |  Print Topic

?

Is the change to "Limited Time Offer" for the Sapphire Preferred an ominous foreshadowing?

1. Yes, credit cards are going the way of the dodo for mile/point accumulation.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes, credit card sign-ups bonuses will be much lower in 2012 than 2011. 2010-11 was the golden age.

4 vote(s)
    10.8%
  3. No, this is just part of the cycle and similar offers will be around the corner.

28 vote(s)
    75.7%
  4. No, this is the winter before a wonderful spring--to steal someone else's way of putting.

5 vote(s)
    13.5%
  1. autolycus

autolycus Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm new to the points and miles accumulation game, so I thought it might be interesting to see what everyone thought about the Sapphire Preferred "Limited Time Offer" change that's going around the BoardingArea and other blogs yesterday and today.

infamousdx, iolaire and goheerow like this.
  2. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points:
    Thats all marketing, some other card will be the focus for a bit...

deant likes this.
  3. rrgg
    Original Member

rrgg Silver Member

Status Points:
    It's marketing. For example, Citi ThankYou is targeting people with 80k and 100k offers.

4. infamousdx

infamousdx Silver Member

Status Points:
    The fear of loss marketing technique... hook, line and sinker.

5. mommypoints

mommypoints Gold Member

Status Points: