Is DTW next on the DL hub chopping block?

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by James K., Jun 6, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. James K.

James K. Silver Member

Status Points:
    A bunch of commenters I saw said that Detroit would be the next Delta hub to be downsized and I was curious what people's opinions were.

I have no knowledge on the subject, I just happen to love Metro airport dearly and hope it doesn't go. I went to college in Ann Arbor from 2004-2009 and initially I used American's nonstops DTW-LGA to get home. I kept on American a bit after my family moved from New York to the Raleigh-Durham area, but finally decided to try NWA and their nonstops. I still remember the first moment I walked into the MacNamara terminal. The difference between it and the old LC Smith terminal was utterly staggering. It made me get into flying, really.

So I sincerely hope Detroit isn't next to go. What do you guys think? On one hand, MSP is pretty close to DTW so there seems to be some overlap. On the other hand, they have more flights from Detroit scheduled, and the international service Metro offers blows Minneapolis out of the water.

jbcarioca and mo26 like this.
  2. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    I haven't paid any attention to the financial results of DL at DTW. But I've nonetheless been surrpised at the size of the continued operation given the DTW area economy. It can't be a profitable O/D operation.

MSP on the other hand, the old Northwest folks used to say about the Upper Midwest and then further West to places like North Dakota, "It's cold. It's dark. Nobody wants to go there. But it's all ours!!!"

jbcarioca, Olton Hall, desamo and 4 others like this.
  3. mo26

mo26 Silver Member

Status Points:
    imo,

DL seems to have made it pretty clear that ATL, NYC, DTW are their focus moving forward.

I think MSP and SLC will shrink over time, but both are essential for the lift west of the rockies.