Interview: Gary Arndt of Everything Everywhere

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by MLW20, Aug 9, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. MLW20
    Original Member

MLW20 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Gary Arndt has been traveling around the world for the past 5 years taking amazing photos along the way. He shares his stories, photos and experiences on his award winning travel blog Everything Everywhere.
    I've been following Gary's blog for a few years and was really psyched when he agreed to answer some questions for an interview.

Here it is:
    1- Can you tell us a little about yourself? Where are you from, hobbies & interests (asides from travel!)
    I am originally from Wisconsin but spent almost 20 years prior to traveling in Minneapolis. Besides traveling I'm also an award winning photographer as well as being a part owner (1 share of stock) and rabid fan of the Green Bay Packer.

2- What encouraged you to start traveling around the world?

I had an internet company I sold in 1998 to a multinational company. In 1999 I took my first trip overseas on a three week around the world trip to their offices. I visited Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, France, Beligum, Germany and the UK. Since then was hooked and I knew I had to travel more. In 2005 I made the decision to travel around the world and in 2007 I sold my home and started.
    3- How long have you been traveling and what was your first destination? most recent?
    I mark the start of my travels as March 13, 2007 which was the day I sold my house. I began the trip by driving to Texas, going to LA by train and then flying to Hawaii. It took me 6 months to cross the pacific. Most recently I was in Sweden.

4- I know that you don't have a favorite country or area in the world. I was wondering- from the places you have visited which would you like to go back to in the future?