Important thing to know when arriving at an airport

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by ericc22, May 25, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi there! Good afternoon,

This is my first post here, I hope this is the right place!

I'm a graduate student working on a project. One of the things I have to do in order to get started is asking frequent flyers some questions about what they do when they arrive at an airport.

I'd really appreciate if some of you guys could tell me what, in your opinion, are the most important things to know when landing at an airport. What is useful to know in advance and why? What do you usually look for right after you exit the aircraft? What kind of stuff you wish you had known in advance? It could be at any airport, anywhere in the world. Are they some information specific to a particular facility?

If you had to pick up between 3 and 5 pieces of information about airports, what would they be?

I appreciate your help! Thanks a lot for your time :)

yaychemistry likes this.
  2. viguera
    Original Member

viguera Gold Member

Status Points:
    There are entirely too many variables... are you traveling internationally, do you have checked in luggage, are you arriving at your final destination, etc.

For some people the most important piece of information would be how to get to the nearest taxi stand, while others care more about rental car agencies, gates for connecting flights or a variety of other things.

3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP. In what field is your academic project? Decision theory? Transportation/civil engineering? Communications? CS/IT? Operations?

4. yaychemistry

yaychemistry Silver Member

Status Points:
    If it's a departure/arrival airport: is there public transportation that can get me there/to my final destination?
    Is the best food/lounge landside or airside?