I'm a noob and have some noob questions...

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by meegwell, Mar 12, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. meegwell

meegwell New Member

Status Points:
    Hello all,

I am trying to figure out a credit card plan that will reward me with flexible airline travel (not one specific airline).

Some initial general quetions (understanding that every card is different):

Can I pay monthly bills on a CC and earn points?
    What are typical "qualified transactions" and is this something I should watch out for?

I am not a frequent flyer, and dont plan on being one. I have a family of 6 - 4 young children - and would like to use my monthly spending to help finanance a nice annual trip via air. I prefer convenience. I thought about using my primary banks reward card (BofA) so I can do the bills/transfers all from one screen. Dont know if this is even worthy of considering.

My monthly household spend is about $7,500 bills and disposable, so I am looking to maximize air travel rewards with this.

Any initial guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks and I look foward to engaging here!

satman40, ContinentalFan and edekba like this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hello & Welcome!

1) Hmm monthly bills should be fine. I pay my cable/phone/TV all on my Chase Ink Card and earn 5x... I don't see a problem with that.
    2) Not sure what you mean by qualified transactions ... but pretty much all spend is qualified except for cash-advance/balance transfers.

Out of $7,500 in bills ... what are the greatest percentage of your spend. With 4 children I would expect groceries? If so something like the Amex Everyday Preferred would be good; 3 - 4.5 MR per $ which could then be transferred to partners for air travel.

Where are you located & where do you typically go or want to go on your annual trip? That would help.

satman40 likes this.
  3. meegwell

meegwell New Member

Status Points: