I see availability, but was waitlisted after applying GPU

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by lrluis, Jul 29, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. lrluis

lrluis Silver Member

Status Points:
    It's my first year as a 1K, so apologies on the n00bie post. I saw that there were two open first class seats on the UA seat selector a few days ago. I tried to apply my GPU and was wait listed.

Today, I noticed that there was one open seat remaining in F, so I got nervous and called the 1K line to see if I could confirm my upgrade. However, they said that first class was sold out and that was the reason I was wait listed. She explained that the open seat was showing because someone does not have a seat assignment.

I guess what I don't understand is that I'm still given an option to pay $1,200 to upgrade to that seat, which to me, doesn't mean it's "SOLD OUT."

Could someone give me a brief explanation of how I might be able to get my GPU confirmed and what tool I can use to figure out the TRUE number of seats available in F? Thanks!

If it helps, it's flight UA1587 (SFO-BOS) on 8/2/2012.

2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Upgrades come from an award bucket, not from revenue inventory. You cannot necessarily upgrade into the last seat for sale and haven't been able to for some time now.

The bucket you care about is the R bucket. Details on finding what you are looking for can be found (among other places) here: http://boardingarea.com/blogs/thewa...ted-com-primer-how-to-find-upgrade-inventory/.

The $1200 "upgrade" is just the fare difference to a F fare.

The current inventory now is this: F1 A0 JN1 Z0 ZN0 P0 PN0 R0 RN0 IN0 I0 Y9 YN9 B9 M9 E9 U9 H9 HN9 Q9 V0 W0 S0 T0 L0 K0 G0 N0 XN0 X0. They have one seat for sale up front but that's it. Nothing for upgrade awards.

estnet, myskyconnections and lrluis like this.
  3. KenInEscazu

KenInEscazu Gold Member

Status Points: