How to know if a Mileage Run is worth it?

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by syphlix, Feb 20, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. syphlix
    Original Member

syphlix Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi,

Complete noob here... so i hope this is the right forum!

Can you help me understand when a mileage run is worth it?

For example, recently i saw the low fares for $150 RT from NYC to copenhagen...

If you took that, isn't it like paying $150 for about 8000 miles? is that really worth it? esp when your time is factored in as well?

What am i missing?

2. heffa
    Original Member

heffa Silver Member

Status Points:
    Wooow... That's a fantastic price. Was it SK? Is it still open?

3. gemac
    Original Member

gemac Silver Member

Status Points:
    Mostly, what we call mileage runs are really status runs. Getting redeemable miles is nice, but we are after airline status. Sometimes, there are bonuses for redeemable miles occasionally that make for mileage runs, but there aren't a lot of these.

For status, everybody will have a cost/mile that they use to decide whether to do it or not. For me, it's 5 cents per mile, but others will have something else. For 8,000 miles I would look at it for any cost under $400, but that would be the total cost including everything. $150 is well under that, and worth doing in my opinion, if it includes all costs.

lv2trvl likes this.
  4. lv2trvl
    Original Member

lv2trvl Silver Member

Status Points:
    It was on Delta and happened a few days ago. They forgot to include the fuel surcharge for their U.S. - Europe flights through April. That "sale" lasted for a few hours before they fixed the mistake.

5. lv2trvl
    Original Member

lv2trvl Silver Member

Status Points:
    Like gemac said, I think most people people book mileage runs to reach or maintain a certain elite status level.