How Mile/Points Shopping Portals Work (as I see it)

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by iolaire, Aug 15, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points:
    Last week and this the Miles/Points Shopping Portals have received a lot of PR for offers which look to good to be true and for companies canceling orders placed by miles users to accumulate miles. I've posted in a few threads to explain how I think these programs work. This tread is a summarization of those points.

I'm not trying to pass judgment on your attempt to get points - but rather would prefer that you understand how the programs really work. If anyone has real data points proving my assumptions are wrong please feel free to let me know.

All of the following is my option, I might be wrong, but it's how I understand things work I'm a very small hobbyist affiliate and understand these programs are affiliate marketers also.

I'm going to break up each section into individual posts to make this more manageable to read and quote.

2. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points:
    How Mile/Points Shopping Portals Work
    When you see an offer saying that you can get X miles for doing Y, generally the vendor had nothing to do with the promotion. The Shopping Portal Management firm looked at what they were getting paid for an affiliate action with the vendor and made a calculation as to how many miles they can pay you if you generate a transaction.

So when you see that you can get X points for an EasyCGI or Sittercity sign up, that means they are paying the Shopping Portal Management firm money for each sign up - http://www.allaffiliateprograms.com has lots of the pay outs listed for various companies - EasyCGI was paying $110 for new phone plans and Sittercity $40 per signup.