How do you use miles on multiple people?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by realitystryking, Nov 27, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi, Bare with me, I am really new to this...as in "this is my first day." My husband and I don't seem to understand how flyer miles work. Do we both need separate accounts in order to redeem points for free airfare in order to travel together or can we share the same account? On our days off we want to see the world. Our goal is to fly together using points we rack up. (and hopefully sit together if that is even possible) I established a OnePass account years ago because it came as a free program attached to my ShopRite card for purchasing groceries. I have earned a few thousand points, nothing exciting, but now we are ready to step it up and fly on the cheap. How do people fly their whole family for so little? I plan on taking advantage of all the credit cards that offer FFM - are they generic? I think I have a lot of reading and research to do.....

rwoman, misman, TravelMusing and 3 others like this.
  2. Lufthansa Flyer
    Original Member

Lufthansa Flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hi, Welcome to MP.

You can certainly book travel for 2 people out of one person's Frequent Flyer (FF) account. Most plans also let you transfer points from one member to another, but usually at some cost. Most people capitalize on large bonus point offers from credit cards to accumulate points. Chase and Amex (among others) generally offer anywhere from 10000 to 50000 points to sign up for their cards (sometimes the promo's are even higher).

Depending on what your travel habits are, or are going to be will determine the best path to go. It usually best to accumulate miles in a central account like AMEX or Chase, so then you have multiple choices for which airlines to fly.

What do you see as your travel in the future? how many travelers? The further you want to travel, the more points it'll take so having a smart strategy is a good idea.

3. deant