How do you see a future with fewer miles/points?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Steven Schwartz, May 7, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Steven Schwartz
    Original Member

Steven Schwartz Gold Member

Status Points:
    So I’m wondering if anyone else is in this situation and how they look at it. About 9-10 years ago, I discovered the world of points and miles – first Marriott and then Starwood. The latter allowed us to transfer to airlines so it meant the beginning of some incredible journeys with premium cabin flights and wonderful hotels.

Initially, it was all powered by my ability to use my credit cards to pay business expenses. As a dentist, I was able to charge lab and supply costs in addition to our personal expenses. It all added up pretty quickly and those points, combined with learning about FlyerTalk led to some extraordinary experiences. And yes, I’ve been spoiled! Lately, transatlantic Business Class has actually been a step down now that we’ve had the pleasure of travelling First Class on BA, Air France, Swiss, Lufthansa and United; we have FC reserved next January on Cathay Pacific! We’ve had experiences that we have treasured and could never, ever have been able to pay for – next January’s Cathay flights go for $26,000 for each of us!

Like most of you, those hard-earned points accumulations have been turbocharged of late thanks to a massive number of points/miles we’ve accumulated through credit card sign-ups. That has clearly made it easier and has allowed friends who do not own their own businesses to move up in class too. But most people seem to think that the glory days of credit card bonuses are nearing an end and that mileage redemptions are likely to dramatically change in the next few years.