How did you get your RA status?

Discussion in 'IHG | Rewards Club/Ambassador' started by glu800, Feb 9, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. glu800

glu800 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi all,
    I'm fairly new to Priority Club and the whole IHG chain, but I've been recently staying at ICs quite often... which got me thinking if I should pay to join the Ambassador program. And then once I started looking into that, my sights naturally went to how to achieve RA status. My question is, for everyone here who has RA, how did you get it? Was it purely through stays at the IC? Did you buy the referral off someone? Was someone kind enough to give it to you?
    It certainly sounds enticing to achieve RA status, but I'm not sure it's worth it for me to spend a lot of my own personal money for the stays needed.
    Thx

TheBeerHunter likes this.
  2. CIPAS
    Original Member

CIPAS Silver Member

Status Points:
    I earned hard way.
    Why don't you start with AMB first? If you are staying more than 3-5 nights per year, you should get AMB.

brinkers likes this.
  3. igloocoder
    Original Member

igloocoder Silver Member

Status Points:
    I got it the hard way too. I'm guessing I had about 10 nights in Holiday Inns, 4 nights in 3 different ICs and about 170 nights in HIXs.

CIPAS is right, if you're doing more than a few nights in ICs, get on the Amb train. Because I so rarely am in cities that have ICs, Amb makes the most sense for me. With my stay pattern RA is just a nice benefit that I get to use on those rare occasions that I find myself in an IC hotel.

4. TheBeerHunter
    Original Member

TheBeerHunter Silver Member

Status Points:
    Initially, my husband bought an RA cert off of eBay for me, but I've since reupped 2 years running "the hard way". All of our travel is discretionary and on our own dime. We average about 80 nights a year at IHG properties, and about 50% of those at ICs (usually at least 10 different properties worldwide).