How best to get to New Zealand? (which bonus CCs to use?)

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by surfstar, Jun 2, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. surfstar

surfstar New Member

Status Points:
    I use cash back credit cards, but in thoughts of a NZ trip next year, am thinking of applying for some airlines/travel cards in order to get the bonus points and hopefully a free flight. Initial searching makes it sound like a flight through Sydney would give a better opportunity at finding a business seat. Also the cards/bonus rewards (currently) that seem to help achieve this are: Chase United MileagePlus, Chase Sapphire Preferred, and US Airways MC.

Origin would be LAX, stopoff in Sydney would be great (not sure if time would allow other destinations - ie Fiji) ending in New Zealand.

As I'm new to airline rewards and miles, are those the best cards to sign up for and try to maximize bonus points for this trip? Am I blindly missing and going about it wrong?

thanks in advance!

Newscience and MX like this.
  2. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you want to make a stop in Sydney or Hawaii, then OneWorld alliance (Qantas, American, etc) should be a good fit. Consider applying for Citi AAdvantage cards.
    If you'd rather fly non-stop or through Fiji, check out the Star Alliance (Air NZ, United, etc.). Chase UR program has a number of *A transfer partners.

wrxmom and Newscience like this.
  3. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Status Points:
    I find Delta's partner, Virgin Australia, to offer quite generous award availability in business and economy from the US to Oz. Trans-Tasman award availability is usually quite good as well.

4. Newscience

Newscience Gold Member

Status Points:
    FWIW, Fiji Airlines (formerly Air Pacific) codeshares with American Airlines. See: http://www.fijiairways.com/about-fiji-airways/partner-airlines/

traveltoomuch and MX like this.
  5. kiwi
    Original Member

kiwi Gold Member

Status Points: