Honeymoon to Ireland - booking questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Mikus33, Jan 25, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Mikus33

Mikus33 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm pretty new to the miles game and I'm working on booking my honeymoon to Ireland. My base airport is MCI, but finding availability out of MCI in first/business is quite difficult. I found availability from CLT to DUB in business on the way out for 50,000 points/ticket on US Airways (booked through CO), and first from DUB-FRA-ORD for 67,500/ticket on the way back. I called to have the flights reserved for 3 days, and I have a few questions:

1. In order to book the whole trip (235,000 points) I need my fiancée's 50k credit card bonus to come through, which won't happen until Feb 6. My reservations are only good until midnight on Jan 27. Is there a way to transfer my reservation to her account to get more reservation days (even though another 3 days won't be enough)? Any chance I could pass the reservation back and forth between us or to another CO account to make it until the Feb 6 points hit? (It's been very hit and miss finding first/business availability out of any hubs, so I hate having to give up either of the reservations)

2. Do the Chase Ultimate rewards post immediately in my CO account as soon as I transfer them or do I need to start the transfer now or tomorrow?

3. Is there anyway to get out of paying the $50 call center fees when I book?

Any other advice for a newbie?

misman, harvson3 and uggboy like this.
  2. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    To answer your questions in revers order.
    3. No easy way to get out of paying the call center fee.
    2. The Chase UR should post immediately when you do the transfer.