Hi! Should I apply for this card after just receiving these 2?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by nonstopski, Jan 15, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. nonstopski

nonstopski Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hey guys! Just joined here. I'm relatively new to the game, just starting following some blogs and a little action over at Flyertalk. Had a question for you all.

I am looking to add another card. I currently have 3 cards, with two more on the way this week:

- Chase Freedom
    - Chase BP Rewards (terrible card, but I have a short credit history and this is my longest held card - so keeping it for that reason)
    - Banana Republic Card (Run by GE Capital unfortunately, but it's a good rewards card for all the shopping I do at BR)
    - Citi AA Visa (Pending, in my hands in 7 days)
    - Citi AA Amex (Pending, in my hands in 7-10 days)

My credit is in the 740-760 range, and before this Friday the 11th, I hadn't applied for a card since october 2012 (the chase freedom card)

Now I am looking to apply for the United Explorer Card (with targeted 50k mileage bonus) and the Chase Sapphire Preferred. I think I'm going to hold off on the CSP for now, because the spending requirements along with the two AA cards is too much to commit to. However, the Explorer just has a $1,000 spending requirement for the 50k, and is definitely doable.

I'm wondering, after just getting a credit pull Friday the 11th, should I wait to apply for the Explorer? I already have two chase cards, one of which I use heavily, the other (BP card) I keep just because it's my longest held card and my AAoA is relatively short. It seems Chase and Citi pulls are mostly with Equifax in the state of Virginia, where I live. So, applying again may show up as a ton of pulls with just Equifax.

If I wait, which seems like the best option, I had a few questions:

1. apply for Explorer and CSP at same time on same day?
    2. How long should I wait? 30 days? 60 days? 90 days?