Hi! First timer planning trip to China

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by mrtmr, Oct 15, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. mrtmr

mrtmr New Member

Status Points:
    Good morning everyone,

This is my first time posting.
    My goal for earning miles is to fly a family of 4 to China in 2018. I would love to upgrade to business class on Cathay, when we go. I just joined Asia Miles. I also plan on getting a miles card or two and churning those to accumulate miles.

Any advice for a beginner?

Thanks.

uggboy likes this.
  2. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    We sometimes use AA one way and UA the other,

Sometimes 4 up front is a little hard to do.

I travel to China twice a year, and have been there many times, their time is upside down, but WE CHAT, and face time it is easy to talk everyday, with my wife's family.

Never get tired of the sights.

ariosto, uggboy and daninstl like this.
  3. traveltoomuch

traveltoomuch Silver Member

Status Points:
    Sure. Advice: to the extent that you know, be very precise about what you want. I read the above as "I want to buy coach tickets on Cathay and use miles to upgrade to biz". Perhaps you meant "I want to use miles to get biz class tickets on Cathay"?

uggboy and daninstl like this.
  4. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Upgrades do not always clear.

Tonight IAD/FR, did not clear, on UA. LANDING ONE HOUR. next leg IST.

uggboy and daninstl like this.
  5. daninstl

daninstl Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint. 2018 is a good goal on this. You have plenty of time and should be able to do this sooner. Actually sooner is better as the miles tend to devalue over the long term.