Help with trip to Paris

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by jasonmh26, Jul 8, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jasonmh26

jasonmh26 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi All,

I am pretty new here and would love some advice. I have been saving up BA miles to take my wife on a surprise trip to Paris (we have never been). I started early because I figured it would take me a while to to get the points and companion pass with the BA Visa, but I am almost there now. Now that I am close, I am starting to think about how to actually book the travel and other details. I have never tried to book an award flight before.

- I was trying to avoid summer and winter. Any recommendations on visiting Paris in the spring or fall?
    - I am expecting that availability of first class award tickets is very limited. I am hoping to get around that by having very flexible travel dates. How far in advance do you normally start looking for award tickets? Is it normal to start looking a year in advance?
    - I have a good amount of SPG points, so I was thinking of trying to spend part of the trip at the Westin Paris. Any other suggestions on places to stay?
    - Other than 2 years of high school French, we don't know much of the language. I am assuming that won't be too much of a problem?
    - Any other favorite things to do while in Paris?

Thanks very much,
    Jason

desamo, sobore, Sweet Willie and 2 others like this.
  2. myskyconnections

myskyconnections Active Member

Status Points:
    wow: tons of questions. i used to live and work in paris, and there's no shortage of things to do. in regards to getting flights, i am more of a star alliance guy, and have not had much issues booking business class with miles - 1st class might be a bit more complex.