Help with booking Honeymoon to St John

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by ars2210, Feb 8, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. ars2210

ars2210 Member

Status Points:
    Hello everyone,

My first post and I'm very new at this, so be gentle. I am trying to get everything alligned for my honeymoon sometime in the early December 2012 timeframe. We plan to go to St. John by way of STT and looking to stay 5 nights. We don't plan to use points for accomodations while there, only airfare to get to the islands. Being our honeymoon, I'd like to fly Business class if at all possible, but if we have to do without it it's not a huge deal.

I've some points saved up in several different areas and will list them for the convenience of anyone willing to help. I also travel a small amount for work so will have the opportunity to rack up several more air and hotel points although they will probably be spread throughout the various reward programs due to locations and availability (unknown airlines, with hotels mostly Hiltons and Marriotts).

Airlines:
    AA - 5,421 CO - 2,436 Delta - 32,983 United - 500 US - 9,191 Virgin America - a few hundred that haven't shown up yet

Hotels:
    HH - 15,750 Priority Club - 1,050 MR - 13,819 SPG - 1,272

The two of us have no reward credit cards at this time, but are planning to get some within the next few days depending on what info I can get here. My questions begin with which cards I should consider that will allow me the best use of current points manipulation and spending bonuses on these cards to get me where I am going (ie. converting hotel or other airline points over to allow for award for this flight)? I was thinking the Chase Sapphire and Ink Bold cards to start with...