Help-Need Place to Go for 10 Days

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by domdigs, Dec 3, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. domdigs

domdigs Member

Status Points:
    Hi all, it's my first time posting here. I received some unexpected time off from work starting today until Dec 20 and want to use it to travel. I need help deciding where to go with the miles I have. It will be the first time I am traveling internationally by myself, I think ever. I am 30 and based out of LAX.

The top countries on my list are:
    Central/Southern Africa
    Philippines
    Indonesia
    Colombia
    Greece
    Slovenia/Croatia

These countries were selected because they are affordable, warm and laid back.

I have frequent flyer miles to use for the flights including:
    AAdvantage-110,000
    SkyMiles-50,000
    United MP-100,000 (Chase UR)
    Amex MR-60,000

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  2. LarryInNYC

LarryInNYC Gold Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for what? Are you looking for people to make suggestions about which country to visit, do you need help redeeming the miles, or is your question something else?

3. domdigs

domdigs Member

Status Points:
    *Updated
    I forgot to ask for help in deciding which country I can fly to with the miles I have. Are there any last minute deals or low cost mileage flights out of LAX to any of these places right now? Looking to leave in a few days.

4. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    (bolding added)

Temperature in Athens, Greece right now: 46 F
    Temperature in Ljubljana, Slovenia right now: 26 F
    Temperature in Zagreb, Croatia right now: 23 F

Unless you live in a place like Whitehorse, Yukon (temp right now: -13 F), I am not sure those are places to visit in December when "warm" is a criteria :)

ffitalia and iolaire like this.
  5. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

Status Points: