Help: JFK to HKG on CX using AA and Avios

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Zolomark, Sep 7, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Zolomark

Zolomark Active Member

Status Points:
    Hello MP,

Was wondering if some creative minds could help me book an award flight. Its pretty straight forward. I'm planning a trip to my home country for Christmas and New Years. I do have a specific timeline in mind since I'm restricted by work (December 24 to January 5 or 6, 2013). I'd like to fly business class since its a long flight. And I have the following accounts:

AA: 110K
    Avios: 52k
    (also Delta: 55k, US Airways: 40k)

I checked BA.com for availability, but it says there are none (as usual).

This is my first time booking an award flight on an airline/alliance other than Delta, so I'm not sure how it works. I know that according to the one world award chart, it's 110K miles for RT business class ticket between these destinations. Thing is I'm not sure how I actually go about booking it.

Do I go on cathay.com? or aa.com? or ba.com? Do I call any of them?

Thanks for the help!

2. LAXtraveler
    Original Member

LAXtraveler Gold Member

Status Points:
    In my experience, the best way to go about doing this would be to just pick up the phone and call AA to check for availability on the flights and dates you want. It seems that you want to go during a pretty peak season, so availability could be very slim.

Try creative routing other than just the JFK-YVR-HKG flight. See if you could maybe do a segment on AA to LAX/SFO and then connect up to CX for the transpac portion. Ideally the longer time in the CX J product would be nice, but I'm not sure what would be out there for you.

Good luck. And keep calling and checking everyday (if you want an alert set up try Wandering Aramean's Travel Tools http://www.wandr.me/).

hulagrrl210 and Zolomark like this.
  3. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points: