Help inserting Formatted Text into JPG image

Discussion in 'Travel Technology' started by Gaucho, Apr 26, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Gaucho
    Original Member

Gaucho Gold Member

Status Points:
    OK... so I have a jpg format image that I need to edit by inserting formatted text into the picture, but I want to be able to do this on top of the original image background... ie. I dont want the inserted text to be inside some box. Im no design expert and dont have PhotoShop... cant seem to do this with the normal Paint program. Is there some trial version of some program I can use to do this...? The text Im trying to edit into the scanned image is very short, just a name.... Im trying to assist with a school related project and would appreciate any help from the resident tech gurus.....

Thanks !!!
    Alex

perryplatypus likes this.
  2. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points:
    Gimp is an open source photoshop replacement. I don't know what the windows version is like. It's a unix type app so it might look odd, but it is powerful. On the Mac side someone made a nice mac like interface version.
    http://www.gimp.org/windows/

Gaucho and perryplatypus like this.
  3. viguera
    Original Member

viguera Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you use Picasa you can easily just click on the text tool and add text to any image on any album.

If you don't you can use pixlr (http://pixlr.com/) either online or even on your phone and overlay text on any image you have.

Gaucho likes this.
  4. Gaucho
    Original Member

Gaucho Gold Member

Status Points:
    Thanks Guys... I will give the above a try and report back.... greatly appreciated.

5. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points:
    Try http://gimpshop.com/ thats is the mac version that looks better and now it is Windows also...

6. WilCo
    Original Member

WilCo Silver Member

Status Points: