Help from a Newbie... LAX-SAO, RIO-AUS

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by Mark Allen Jackson, Mar 8, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Mark Allen Jackson
    Original Member

Mark Allen Jackson Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hey there!

I'm looking for the best way to maximize miles on this route. I'm traveling June 19th and returning June 29th. I'm a student so I'm looking for a good price, but maybe have a stopover somewhere to see another country along the way! Any help would be appreciated! I love this forum so far!

m4rk4jcks0n likes this.
  2. Ygor
    Original Member

Ygor Gold Member

Status Points:
    I am having trouble figuring out what SAO and RIO are. Do you mean Sao Paulo (GRU) and Rio de Janeiro (GIG)?
    If that's what you mean, you can try Copa (CM) and maybe stop over in PTY?
    Other than that there isn't much you can to. From LAX to GRU you can route via IAH (worst), ORD and IAD (better), or EWR (best) in terms of most miles. If you aren't going to Brazil, then forget everything I said.

Mark Allen Jackson likes this.
  3. Mark Allen Jackson
    Original Member

Status Points:
    Yes I'm going to Brazil, those codes are for all airports within the airports in terms of searching. Thanks for your input!

m4rk4jcks0n likes this.
  4. colpuck
    Original Member

colpuck Gold Member

Status Points:
    To dig a little deeper, are you in it for just the max amount of miles? Is the cost per mile a factor? Do you have a program you are in now? Are you looking to upgrade, if so how and with who?

Need more information to better answer question. But happy to help either way.

5. Mark Allen Jackson
    Original Member

Status Points:
    Hey there! In all actuality, I'm looking for the best price/stopover combo. I'm interested in seeing another country en-route with a longish stopover! Let me know if you can help!

Mark

m4rk4jcks0n likes this.
  6. Ygor
    Original Member

Ygor Gold Member

Status Points: