Help booking award Mexico City to Oslo, Norway. 6/20

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by boogsbobo, Apr 4, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. boogsbobo

boogsbobo New Member

Status Points:
    Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

One-way trip from MEX to OSL in economy, and I would love to do a 1-3 day stopover, if possible, in Detroit (DTW) or another nearby US city. I need to arrive in Oslo by 6/22, and I can leave MEX as early as 6/19.

I have been collecting points for several months, but this is my first complicated award booking! I have 80K + balances in Amex, Chase ultimate rewards, and AAdvantage. How can I best use these to get a good value and the stopover? Thanks!

p.s. alternatively, a 1-3 day stopover in Madrid would be great, too.

2. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Are you saying that you have a TOTAL of 80K points or 80K points in each of the programs?

3. MDDCFlyer

MDDCFlyer Silver Member

Status Points:
    Stop-over on one way redemption might be a difficult thing to accomplish (especially as none of the proposed location is really a gateway [MAD for IB maybe]). More likely than not, if you want a stop-over it will have to be either two awards, or finding the itinerary that would allow for less than 24hr stop-over (if that even desirable).

4. DestinationDavid
    Original Member

DestinationDavid Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP boogsbobo.

I am not versed in Amex or Chase points, but if you wanted to know about your options with AA miles, I can give you some thoughts on that. But as deant mentioned, we'd need to know how many points/miles you are working with in each program.

I can also tell you off the bat that using AA miles to stop over in DTW or MAD is not very likely, sadly. There is some flexibility but it all depends on how many miles you have.

5. DestinationDavid
    Original Member

Status Points: