Help a newbie with his points strategy :)

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by swngair, Jan 7, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi guys! I'm new to the points game but I've been doing a lot of reading. Please critique my strategy.

Situation: Currently in Argentina, but going to be living in the SF Bay area in June.

Goals for the year: travel to asia in style. Visit friends in NYC and throughout the US.

I have excellent credit and my current cards are:
    1. Amex Premier Rewards Gold (acquired last May and have around 25k points)
    2. Capital One Venture (the light no-annual-fee version).
    3. An old bank card that I don't use.

Here's what I'm considering:

1. Chase Sapphire Preferred ($3000 spend in 3 mo.): 50k points.

2. Amex Platinum ($3000 in 3 mo.): I will definitely use the $200 fee credit, so I'd be paying $250 for 50k points and an ego bump. It may not be the best deal, but now that I'm on the points bandwagon, I expect I'll be getting some use out of those airlines clubs.

3. The 2x50k Citi AA cards (2x$2500 in 4 mo.).

Questions:

1. I should be able to use the the 100k American points for roundtrip first/business class to Asia and the Sapphire points for a hotel stay right? (via transfer to Hyatt).

2. Would it make sense to transfer Amex points to Delta on a promo to use for domestic travel?

3. I'm going to wait a few months for the platinum upgrade, but does it make sense to sign up for the other three at the same time to reduce the number of credit inquiries?

4. Anything I'm missing? SPG looks great but I'm waiting for a >10k bonus.

Thanks so much!

swngair

[edit to clarify my questions]

yaychemistry likes this.
  2. yaychemistry

yaychemistry Silver Member

Status Points: