Help a newbie with a flight to Seattle

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by spivey, Jan 20, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. spivey

spivey Silver Member

Status Points:
    I need help.. specifically for finding a flight to SEA from DTW on DL departing 4/25 returning 4/29 maximizing the # of miles.

1. Is there a better way to do this than searching on delta.com using their multi-city booking?

2. The best I found (I'm new at this) was DTW-BOS-DTW-SEA-MSP-BOS-DTW for $663.80, 6346 MQM

Help, please...

Thanks!

Matt

2. DTWBOB

DTWBOB Silver Member

Status Points:
    You might try flying out of FNT and doing something like FNT-DTW-MSP-SEA or even FNT-DTW-ORD-MSP-SEA.

It's also important that each fight have a different number, otherwise it won't count as a separate segment. Delta often uses the same number for flights to and from a hub (e.g. you're flight to and from BOS could have the same number). Likewise, flights from say DTW to ORD to MSP might have the same number all the way through.

DTWBOB

3. USAF_Pride
    Original Member

USAF_Pride Gold Member

Status Points:
    Lansing also works the same as Flint

4. DTWBOB

DTWBOB Silver Member

Status Points:
    Kinda depends on where you're coming from -- FNT is on the south side of town so works well for people on the North and West Sides of Detroit -- (despite the song with the famous wording, there is no "South Detroit".)

LAN is west of town, so is a bit more inconvenient. I've used FNT a lot, LAN only once -- but not because the bar is Sparty's Den!

DTWBOB

5. USAF_Pride
    Original Member

USAF_Pride Gold Member

Status Points:
    I realize that LAN isn't as convenient as FNT, but we are talking about MQM, not convenience here!!

6. spivey

spivey Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks folks!

Here is what I booked.

DTW-ATL-BOS-DTW-SEA

Return SEA-MSP-ATL-BOS-DTW

7255 MQM

$660

Did I do a decent job?

7. traveller99

traveller99 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Heii yes