Hello from a noob

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by TravelRz, May 12, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. TravelRz

TravelRz New Member

Status Points:
    Hi everyone

I am a noob in the truest sense of the word, since this is not just my first post on this forum, but on any forum ever!

I recently got hooked on the "credit card signup bonus" craze after getting my first "purposeful" card application - the Barclays Arrival. It was a breeze meeting the mandatory spend, and now I am ready to find my next card...

I LOVE traveling, but am an absolute noob when it comes to leveraging reward points etc..I am really excited about learning how to figure this out.

Right now I am considering the 45k bonus with 2k spend OR 50k with 3k both on CITI or the 100k bonus on 10k spend with 450 annual fee - just not sure which is the better deal and how I can meet the spend req and whether the 450 fee is 'worth it'?
    Also, can one get the ChaseBold ink without actually having a "business"?

Also is it worth actually paying to find out your FICO score? I saw the Arrival now gives a free score but it was not the case when I got my card.

Thanks!
    Pat

Gargoyle and uggboy like this.
  2. sharris503

sharris503 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Slow down, is the phrase that comes to mind. Stumbling into this hobby can be a very exciting proposition when you realize the possibilities. We have all been there. The best advice I can give you is to take a deep breath step back and figure out what your goals are. Why do you want to apply for the cards you have listed? Why did you get the Barclay's Arrival card? Was it because some blogger sold you on it? Or did you have an actual goal in mind? Set a goal, research what points will get you there, do your homework and go slow. The last thing you want to do is apply for 4 - 6 cards at once have over 20k in spend and be in over your head. Once you have a goal in mind strategize which cards you need to get you there and go for those.