Guide me how to spend my mileage points

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by lakshminaran, Mar 14, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. lakshminaran

lakshminaran Active Member

Status Points:
    Hello Everyone,

1st of all, nice 2 see and meet all you here. This is LNPK from southern part of India. Good to note that Milepoint is an active forum for all FFs around the world. I wish to take the guidance from all of U, who are experienced with Emirates Skywards.

Two years back, during a EK Skywards & MasterCard joint promotion: I was one of the lucky winner of 300,000 miles. These points are soon lapsing during the year.

I'm in a dilemma whether to book flight tickets to my parents, as they are finishing 30 yrs of their marriage anniversary? And also as i'm a working professional - we are not that lucky to receive long holiday breaks (30 days), as all western countries friends use to enjoy. If so, I want to know how to maximize the no. of places, which places (these places should have decent vegetarian restaurants around the tourist spots) to be travelled using these points?

Or

Shall I use these points to purchase any jewelery, electronic gadget or household items etc, as we can also purchase these items by exchanging the miles?

So, which one is a best option? and respective thoughts please.

Thanks in advance, Good day!!! :)

jmrich1432, iolaire and harvson3 like this.
  2. harvson3

harvson3 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi LNPK, and welcome to Milepoint.

Where do your parents live that you might visit them? What parts of the world are you interested in seeing?
    You may already know this, but Emirates has a calculator to determine the costs for reward trips at http://www.skywards.com/Mileage_Calculator.aspx

3. lakshminaran

Status Points:
    Thanks Harson3 for the quick reply. Mostly, US via Dubai Stopover. I tried & use the given above link and the outcome as follows:

Skywards Blue Skywards SilverSkywards Gold
    Earning Miles Return One-way